Results are in: Number of MCHS AP scholars is up

Editor News Leave a Comment

By Nick Nunn

Staff Writer

Forty-seven Morgan County High School (MCHS) students qualified as Advanced Placement (AP) scholars after receiving the AP exam scores from the 2012-2013 school year. Additionally, two of the 47 AP Scholars this year qualified as National AP Scholars During the last year, only 35 students from MCHS qualified as AP Scholars, indicating an upswing in performance among AP exam takers at MCHS.

“Our numbers are really good,” said Deana Schuman, who serves as coordinator of advanced programs at MCHS.

AP Scholars can earn differing levels of recognition from AP, four of which were earned by MCHS students: AP Scholar, AP Scholar with Honors, AP Scholar with Distinction and National AP Scholar.

To earn an AP Scholar designation, one must receive scores of three or higher on three or more AP exams. For AP Scholar with Honors, one must average at least 3.25 on all AP Exams taken, with scores of three or higher on four or more exams. If a student earns a score of 3 or higher on five or more exams while maintaining an average score of 3.5, they qualify for AP Scholar with Distinction.

Finally, a National AP Scholar must receive an average score of at least four on all AP exams taken, with scores of four or higher on eight or more exams. One may earn both AP Scholar with Distinction and National AP Scholar designations concurrently.

Two MCHS students, Grace Campbell and Nathaniel Conn, qualified as National AP Scholars this year.

Currently, MCHS offers 11 different AP courses but will add AP Economics to the list of available courses next year.

Schuman stated that the 2013-2014 school year will be the first year that students will have to bear the cost of the AP exams. MCHS will continue to pay for the International Baccalaureate exams during they 2013-2014 school year but will cease paying for those tests as well during the following school year.

According to, the fee for each AP exam is $89.

AP Scholars: William M. Almand, Jessica M. Bailey, Savannah L. Black, Christopher D. Brown, Amelia Collier, William M. Davis, Dorothy E. Denham, Tobie Denham, Taylor Faust, Miranda L. Glosenger-Thras, Shannon G. Glosenger-Thras, Andrew H. Hale, Bryce F. Kiepper, Gladwin G. Kreimann, Hayden M. Massey, Andrew P. McHugh, Kathryn T. Morrison, Mohammed A. Rafay, Tyler Richardson, Dillon J. Riedlinger, Arthur K. Shue, Hannah K. Simpson, Cassidy Sims, Christopher K. Sitzmann, Caroline M. Smith, Gabrielle J. Smith, Ashurst M. Walker, Aaron White, Morgan T. White, Jacob S. Williams, Savannah J. Williams

AP Scholars with Honor: Garrett M. Godbey, Dylan T. Jaynes, Caroline L. Jones, Elizabeth E. Mahoney, Robert B. McMichael, McKinlie Ramsey, Austin Ross

AP Scholars with Distinction: Grace E. Campbell, Nathaniel M. Conn, Sam H. Cooper, Hannah G. Hartney, Camden E. Hutcheson, Timothy J. Leclair, Jacob W. Misuraca, Bailey J. Ross, Mitcham C. Tuell

National AP Scholars: Grace E. Campbell, Nathaniel M. Conn

Leave a Reply