Elections board names precincts

Editor Front Page, News Leave a Comment

By Nick Nunn, Staff Writer

At the Oct. 17 meeting of the Morgan County Board of Elections and Registration (BOER), board members named the seven recently instituted voting precincts for Morgan County.

Precinct 1, which covers commission district 1, will be called “Northeast Morgan.”

Precinct 2, covering the majority of commission district 2, will be called “West Morgan.”

Precinct 3 covers most of commission district 3 and will be called “North Morgan.”

Precinct 4, which was described as the “super-precinct” at earlier meetings, will be called “Central Morgan.”

Precinct 5, covering the north half of commission district 5 will be called “East Morgan.”

Precinct 6 will continue to be “Bethany Springfield.”

Precinct 7 will still be called “Clack’s Chapel.”

The exact polling district within the Central Morgan precinct has not yet been decided. The BOER hopes to be able to use the Hall at the Madison-Morgan Cultural Center (MMCC) during the 2014 election cycle.

BOER Chair George Holt mentioned the Morgan County Department of Family and Children Services building as a contingency in the event that the MMCC does not approve of the BOER’s proposal.

The BOER also approved an inter-governmental agreement between the BOER and the Town of Buckhead for election services. The approved agreement states that the BOER will take over the elections process from Buckhead.

Board Member John Milliken asked that the sentence, “The board shall be the municipal election superintendent,” to be included to begin the section of the agreement named “scope of services.” Milliken stated the inclusion of the sentence would assure the BOER’s duties to Buckhead would be the same as to the county.

Leave a Reply