Greenspace Commission makes committee assignments

Editor News Leave a Comment

Kalli Drake Staff Writer

In order to better approach Greenspace projects and issues, Madison’s Greenspace Commission assigned commission members to various committees at its meeting Feb. 17.

They include Executive, Planting, Special Projects, Transferrable Development Rights (TDR), Policy and Trails committees. Chairman of the Greenspace Commission David Land will also serve as the chair of the Executive committee, to which Vice Chair Rick Crown was also assigned.

Crown will be the chair of the Planting committee with members Judy Gilbert and Christine Lambert. Karen Massey will serve as the chair of the Policy committee alongside ex-oficio Greenspace member Christine McCauley and Ashley Nichols.

The Special Projects committee will consist of chair Lambert and members Massey and Nichols. The TDR committee will be composed of the members serving on the commission’s TDR Land Bank board, with the chair being David Land and members Rick Crown and Karen Massey. Ex-oficio member Candace Carlson will act as chair for the Trails committee with member Karl Scott and ex-oficio member Jane Royal.

One of this committee’s projects is improvement to the cemetery trail. “An agreement was signed Monday, Feb. 9 for trail survey, design and construction administration,” said Mollie Bogle. Additionally, Southeastern Archeological Surveys completed a survey of the trail.

Other projects for the Greenspace Commission include the Right-of-Way tree plantings and the planting of Ricketts Fund trees. The Right-of-Way plantings have been completed, and Boy Scout Troop 91 secured funding to participate in the Ricketts program, adding six trees to the J.E. Owen Arboretum.

Leave a Reply