Congratulations teachers of the year

Editor Featured, News Leave a Comment

By Tia Lynn Ivey

managing editor

Congratulations are in order for four Morgan County teachers.  Throughout last week, the school system announced the picks for Teacher of the Year in each of Morgan County’s four schools: Barabara Ingram at the primary school, Angela Watson at the elementary school, Karisa Seymour at the middle school, and Pam Hooten at the high school.

Superintendent James Woodard extended his appreciation to these teachers for exemplifying an impressive dedication to educating this community’s students.

“A highlight of my role of Superintendent is to acknowledge our Teachers of the Year.  I applaud the efforts of all of our Teachers of the Year.  They represent the quality of teachers we expect in Morgan County.  I appreciate their commitment to the Morgan County Charter School System and their dedication to the students of Morgan County,” said Woodard.

Sarah Burbach, assistant superintendent, explained why each of these teachers were chosen this year.

“Mrs. Ingram has always been very dedicated to our community and works tirelessly with our students to ensure that they learn everything they need to learn. Mrs. Watson goes over and beyond every day working in a co-taught class.  She is a detail person who manages to combine the required paperwork with great instruction! Mrs. Seymour’s dedication to the MCMS band is obvious every day — whether she is working on a week end at a band competition or encouraging middle school students to give band a try! Mrs. Hooten advocates for her students and is always looking out for what is in their best interest. She cares about all kids and works hard to help them be successful in math. She teaches all levels, from Advanced Placement to repeater courses.  She is a center of influence with teachers. She builds relationships throughout the school building,” said Burbach.

Out of these four teachers, one will be chosen as the System Teacher of the Year.

“Each of these teachers will participate in formal interviews conducted by community leaders on November 14 and one teacher will emerge as our System Teacher of the Year to move into the final competition at the state level!” explained Burbach. I” don’t envy our community judges one bit, because each of our teachers of the year are wonderful!”

Leave a Reply