Hospital Authority welcomes new leadership

Editor News Leave a Comment

New mmha Moore USE

By Tia Lynn Ivey

managing editor

There is new leadership on the Morgan Memorial Hospital Authority (MMHA) board, as a new member was recently appointed and a new chairman replaced Terry Evans, who retired from the MMHA at the end of June.

Huey Atkins is the newest member to join the MMHA, recommended by board and approved by the Morgan County Board of Commissioners. In addition to Atkins, Sherry Terrell-Alexander and John Moore were reappointed to their roles on the MMHA. Moore was also elected chairman of the MMHA at last week’s regular meeting.

“Now that you have elected…I am going to officially pass the baton onto John Moore, the new chairman of the hospital,” Ralph Castillo, CEO of Morgan Memorial Hospital.

Moore expressed gratitude for the opportunity and shared some of his goals in leading the MMHA.

“Thank you for your faith in me to do this; there are extremely big shoes to fill,” said Moore of his replacement of Terry Evans. “I hope to do a third of the job that the previous chairman did. When I talked to Ralph earlier this week, it boiled down to a few areas that I feel our board should concentrate on. The first one, and the most important to me, is the employees at the hospital; we have to make sure that they are taken care of, that they have the tools they need, and that we listen to what they’re saying so that we can make good decisions for the hospital,” explained Moore.  “The second thing I really think is important we do is continue to do everything we can to equip the employees to provide the best patient care that’s possible. At the end of the day, that’s what we’re really here to do,” continued Moore. “The other two things I want to focus on are making sure that the current hospital continues to run like it is, and the last thing, is that we build the best facility that we can build over the next couple of years. I mean, it is so important that we get this new facility off the ground, get it the way it should be, and provide the citizens of Morgan County the best healthcare that we can do.”

Sarah Burbach was elected as Vice Chair, Paul Courchaine was elected as treasurer, and Mary Ellen Shannon was elected as secretary.

Leave a Reply