Local races to be decided in election on Tuesday

Tia Lynn Ivey News

If you’re a registered voter in Morgan County, you may need to head to the polls on Tuesday, Nov. 7, to cast your ballot in one of the several local elections happening.

You can also cast your vote early at the Morgan County Board of Elections and Registration Office, located at 434 Hancock Street in Madison.

Voting hours are Monday through Friday, 8 a.m to 4:30 p.m. Early voting ends, Friday, Nov. 3.

On election day this Tuesday, the polls will be open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. Madison voters will vote in the conference room at the Public Safety Building (where the fire station is located).

If you are a Madison voter, you can cast your vote at Madison’s Public Safety Center, located at 160 North Main Street in Madison.

If you are a Rutledge voter, you can cast your vote at the Rutledge Fire Station, located at 214 Fairplay Street in Rutledge.

As of press time on Tuesday, Oct. 31, 476 early ballots have been cast thus far. So, be sure to get your vote in and make your voice heard.

In Madison, three candidates are running for mayor: Incumbent Fred Perriman, Kathi Russell, and Robert Lanier.

Incumbent Chris Hodges and Woody Burriss are running the District 5 seat on Madison’s City Council.

Jennie Newton and Eric Joyce are running for the District 2 seat on Madison’s City Council.

Over in Rutledge, Jennifer Buzbee and Brandie Williams Owen are running for the Post 3 seat on the Rutledge City Council.

Bruce Altznauer is running for Rutledge mayor unopposed.

Incumbent Timothy Smith is running again for the Post 3 seat on the Rutledge City Council.

Leave a Reply