Second Straight Region Title Puts Bulldogs in Some Lofty Company

Sports Reports Sports

The 2017 Morgan County football team woke up some echoes this past weekend by capturing their second consecutive region title.  They joined some elite company with this accomplishment.  In seven decades of MCHS football there have been five instances of back-to-back region titles for Morgan County squads.  Those teams were from 1955-56, 1958-59, 1961-62, 2002-03 and of course the 2016-17 teams.

Morgan County has captured a total of 11 region titles and each one is special because they are difficult to come by.  To make it even more distinctive it’s instructive to note the number of region titles each of the Bulldog’s opponents from this season have won.  Hart County is the closest with 10, Putnam County and Oconee County each have 7, Greene County has 6, Lamar County has 5, Monroe Area has 3 and North Oconee and Franklin County each have 2.  Jackson County and East Jackson have never won a region title.

With this achievement the heroes of the past join with our current ones in exploits of football excellence.  History remembers heroes from the 1955-56 teams like Bobby Mason, Snooks Saye, Marvin Ruark. Felton Jenkins, Neal Vason, Donald James, Bo Orr and Leonard Hunnicutt.

From the 1958-59 years old-timers will fondly recall the names of Charles Bell, Jerry Hilsman, Jake Saye, Charles Ruark, Bobby Tamplin, Bonar Newton and Ben Porter.

Then there were the teams from 1961 and 1962.  Those memories are still familiar to those who have followed the Bulldog fortunes.  Names like Danny Thrasher, Otha Knight, Troy Lancaster, Bruce Gilbert, Candler Hunt, Bill and Bob McWhorter and John Shockley.

More recently fans will recall the names of gridiron heroes from the 2002 and 2003 campaigns.  Who can forget the exploits of players like Chace Crowley, Pierre Griffin, S.J. Worrell, Richard Chamberlain, Corey Woodward, Dusty Sidwell, Kellen Carter, Glenn Mathis, Cameron Kiplinger, Adam Swymer and Dillon Bowers?

And now there are new heroes that will go down in Morgan County football lore.

The 2016 and 2017 teams are fresh in our memories right now but their names will now be etched in the annals of MCHS football lore for history to reflect upon in the decades to come.  Names like M. J. Webb, Quinn Williams, Trey Patterson, Keandre Williams, Anthony Cooper, Jordan Huff, Brandon Smith, Jayson Fryzell, Tre’mon Moore, Joel Alcarez and Anderson Wells as well as all of their teammates will be remembered as winners of consecutive region titles.         

Morgan County High School has been playing football since 1948 (played as Madison High School before that time) and in those seventy years of competition the Bulldogs have compiled an enviable record.  The Dogs’ have posted an all-time winning percentage of .626 with a record of 467-275-19.

Want to talk about a proud tradition?  Of the schools currently playing in Class AAA there are only two that have won more games than Morgan County.  Bremen is 510-327-20 for a winning percentage of .607 (includes games since 1934) and Savannah High with a record of 473-487-42 for a winning percentage of .493 (includes games since 1908).  Morgan’s 467 wins have been posted since 1948.

So congratulations are in order.  The Bulldogs of Coach Bill Malone have carved their niche in the records of MCHS football and now head into their last regular season game before the state playoffs.

Like they say, “Tradition Never Graduates.”


Leave a Reply