Spiel names All-State basketball teams

Staff Written Sports

By R. Alan Richardson

sports editor

Sandy Spiel runs a high school sports website that resonates with a lot of readers around the state.  This is the first All-State basketball team announcements seen in Georgia.  The Atlanta Journal Constitution usually runs one of their own by Steve Figueroa that hasn’t been posted at this point.  Here are his nominations for the Class AAA winners.  Congratulations to Tyrin Lawrence, Alec Woodard, and Stevin Greene of the State Champion Morgan County Bulldogs.

Class AAA

Coach of the Year: Harry Marsh, Hart County (24-8; State Runner-Up as #3 seed; Three 4Q Comeback Wins in State Tournament)
Player of the Year: Tyrin Lawrence, Morgan County, Sr.
Freshman of the Year: Domonic Henderson, Monroe
Best Scorer: Hunter McIntosh, GAC, Sr.
Best Shooter: Hunter McIntosh, GAC, Sr.
Best Rebounder: Jaylin Williams, Brantley County, Sr.
Best Passer: Ben Sheppard, GAC, Sr.
Best Shot Blocker: Ryan Mutombo, Lovett, So.
Most Underrated: Bryson Dennis, Stone Mountain, Sr.
Most Improved Team: North Murray 24-5 (Improved from 9-15; Sweet 16; Outright Region 6 Champs; Best Record in School History)
Most Improved: Desmon Foston, Westside-Macon, Sr. (Improved from 6.1 ppg/2.2 rpg/3.4 apg/1.2 spg to 15.6 ppg/9.3 rpg/6.4 apg/1.7 spg)

G – Hunter McIntosh, GAC, Sr.
G – Ben Sheppard, GAC, Sr.
G – Alec Woodard, Morgan County, Sr.
G – Tyrin Lawrence, Morgan County, Sr.
F – Jaylin Williams, Brantley County, Sr.

G – Stevin Green, Morgan County, Sr.
G – Jasper Gibson, Dawson County, Jr.
G – Zim Fields, Windsor Forest, Sr.
F – Luke Chism, Dawson County, Sr.
F – Quay Primas, Central-Macon, So.

Honorable Mention
G – Rex McCord, Hart County, Sr.
G – Devon Barnes, Cedar Grove, Sr.
G – Kowacie Reeves Jr., Westside-Macon, So.
G – Desmon Foston, Westside-Macon, Sr.
G – Emondre Bowles, Johnson-Savannah, So.
G – JaVen Smith, Redan, So.
G – Jordan Stephens, Rutland, Sr.
G – Griffin Neville, Cherokee Bluff, Jr.
G – Titus Brown, Franklin County, Jr.
F – Kalib Clinton, Jackson County, So.
F – Shone Webb, Hart County, So.

Leave a Reply