Qualifying complete

Staff Written News

By Tia Lynn Ivey

managing editor

The window for political candidates to qualify for local races ended on Friday, Mar. 5. A total of 18 candidates qualified for local elections. Only five out of the 12 races are contested. 

The local races shaping up for a showdown between competing candidates include the County Commissioner District 5 Seat, the Board of Education District 2 seat, the Board of Education District 3 Seat, Morgan County Sheriff, and County Tax Commissioner. May 19, 2020 is the primary election for Morgan County’s local races. The winners will proceed to the General election on Nov. 3, 2020. 

Two Republican newcomers have qualified for the County Commissioner District 5 Seat, to take Commissioner Ron Milton’s place. Grant Catterton, of Buckhead, will run for the seat along with Bill Kurtz of Madison. 

Republican Joe Slaughter will run against Independent Kathryn Caldwell for the District 2 Board of Education seat. 

Republican Brad Hawk will seek the Board of Education District 3 Seat, as will Ann Ballard, a Democrat. 

Republican Incumbent Sheriff Robert Markley will run against challenger Kenny Stewart, a Republican for the position of Morgan County Sheriff. 

Wendy Coe, a Republican, Sheree Moon Evans, a Republican, and Shelia Terrell Sanders, a Democrat, are running for County Tax Commissioner. 

There are several uncontested races. Republican Ben Riden Jr. is running for reelection to the County Commissioner District 3 Seat. Republican Philipp von Hanstein is also seeking reelection for the County Commissioner District 4 Seat. Republican Jody Milford Higdon is running for Clerk of Super Court. Incumbent Charles Merritt is running for probate judge. Adam Carter, a republican incumbent is running for County Coroner. Democratic Incumbent Cheryl Bland is running for reelection to the Board of Education District 1 seat. Incumbent Connie Holt is seeking reelection for Magistrate Judge. 

According to Jennifer Doran, election supervisor, noted that April 20 is the last day to register to vote in the May 19 Primary Election. 

Early voting for the March 24 Presidential Primary is now open Monday through Friday from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. at the Morgan County Board of Election and Registration, located at 434 Hancock Street in Madison. There will be an opportunity to cast your vote on Saturday, March 14 from 9 a.m. to 4 p.m.

Leave a Reply